“Persimmons”

Image

“Persimmons” oil on canvas 20hx18w

This painting was created on site at the University of California at Santa Cruz farm garden. The successful program at  The Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems, (farm garden), produces a bounty of fresh fruits and vegetables farmed by its students.  During the winter months the persimmons are in season. They are such a bright orange on the bare tree, that the fruit reminded me of nature’s Christmas ornaments!

Painting landscapes allows me to record my surroundings. Color, movement, composition, all of these things can draw me to a painting subject. I often ask myself why I was drawn to producing a work. It is usually a combination of emotional as well as visual reasons.

This painting is included in my art/guide book, “An Artist’s View of Santa Cruz”, along with many other landscape paintings. The book is available on Amazon.com. The local bookshops that sell my book are: Bookshop Santa Cruz and Capitola Book Cafe. A shorter Kindle version is also available. It is entitled: “An Artist’s Guide to Santa Cruz”. Both books display the paintings and where to find the actual sites. If you are visiting Santa Cruz, CA , this holiday season you will find plenty to do!

Season’s Greetings and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

